2014 - Birth Centenary of Acharya Tulsi - Hyderabad Mint UNC Set

This post gives the details of the Hyderabad Mint UNC set. For Mumbai Mint Proof and UNC Sets refer to the previous posts. 

The first release ceremony of the year 2014 saw the coins of Acharya Tulsi being released on the occasion of Birth Centenary.

Acharya Tulsi (October 20, 1914 – June 23, 1997) was a prominent Jain Acharya. He was the founder of the Anuvrata movement and the Jain Vishva Bharti Institute, Ladnun and the author of over one hundred books.
Acharya Mahapragya and Sadhvi Kanakprabha were his disciples.
Tulsi was born in 1914 in Ladnun, in present Nagaur district of Rajasthan, to Vadana and Jhumarmal Khated. Acharya Kalugani, then the leader of the Terapanth Sangh, greatly influenced Tulsi. Tulsi took his monk’s vows at age 11. In 1936, Kalugani nominated Tulsi to be his successor, making him head of Terapanth group. During his leadership of the sangha, he initiated more than 776 monks and nuns.

In 1949 he launched the Anuvrat Movement (anu = small, vrat=vow, Anuvratas are the limited version of theMahavratas for the monks), based on the five Jain principles Truth, Nonviolence, Non-possession, Non-stealing and Celibacy as applied in their limited version for the lay people. The movement encouraged people to apply the Anuvratas in their their personal lives, even when dealing with non-religious aspects of the society. The movement also held that Dharma is not for ensuring happiness in the future lives but also for achieving happiness in the present life.

The movement has continued under the leadership of his disciple Yuvacharya Mahapragya.

Proof and UNC Set:
Refer to Previous Post

Hyderabad Mint UNC Set:
Coin of Rs 5

In A Major Blunder and first for Hyderabad Mint, the initial sets packaging had the images of Acharya Mahapragya. When this was pointed out to the Mint, the packages were redone with correct images. The incorrect packs were distributed only to few collectors before the error was caught.

No comments:

Post a Comment