2010 - XIX Common Wealth Games - Proof set

For Link to All Posts the Index is here
The Link to All Proof & UNC Sets  

This Post gives the details of Kolkata Mint Proof Set. For UNC Set refer to the Next Post. For Hyderabad Mint Single Coin UNC Set Refer to Next Next Post

The 2010 also saw the release of XIX Common Wealth Games Proof Set and UNC Set.
There were no Circulation coins issued.
The details are;

The 2010 Commonwealth Games, officially known as the XIX Commonwealth Games, were held in Delhi, India, from 3 to 14 October 2010. A total of 6,081 athletes from 71 Commonwealth nations and dependencies competed in 21 sports and 272 events. It was the largest international multi-sport event to be staged in Delhi and India, eclipsing the Asian Games in 1951 and 1982.
The opening and closing ceremonies were held at the Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium, the main stadium of the event. It was the first time that the Commonwealth Games were held in India and the second time it was held in Asia after Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia in 1998. The official mascot of the Games was Shera and the official song of the Games, "Jiyo Utho Bado Jeeto".
Initially, several concerns and controversies surfaced before the start of the Games. Despite these concerns, all member nations of the Commonwealth of Nations participated in the event, except Fiji, which is suspended from the Commonwealth, and Tokelau, which didn't send a team. A widely-praised opening ceremony helped improve the image of the Games.
The final medal tally was led by Australia. The host nation India gave its strongest performance yet to emerge second, while England placed third.

Proof Set: Coins of Rs 100, Rs 5 and Rs 2

UNC Set: Coins of Rs 100, Rs 5 and Rs 2.
See Next Post

Single Coin Sets from Hyderabad / Mumbai Mint
See Next to Next Posts.

No comments:

Post a Comment