2010 - Dr Rajendra Prasad 125th Birth Anniversary - Proof Set

The Link to All Articles is here

This Post gives the details of the Proof Set. For UNC set refer to Next Post and for Hyderabad Mint UNC set refer to this post.

In the year 2010, to mark the 125th Birth Anniversary of Dr Rajendra Prasad, a Proof set and UNC Set were released. The details are;

Dr. Rajendra Prasad (3 December 1884 – 28 February 1963) was was elected as nation's first President (26 January 1950-13 May 1962). He was a prominent figure in India’s Independence struggle and was one of the architects of the Indian Republic, having drafted its first constitution.
He served as the president of the Constituent Assembly that drafted the first constitution of the Republic, which lasted from 1948 to 1950. He also became the first Minister of Food and Agriculture in the year 1946 in the Interim national Government
Prasad had formally joined the Indian National Congress way back in the year 1911. During the Lucknow Session of Indian National Congress held in 1916, he met Mahatma Gandhi.During one of the fact-finding missions at Champaran, Mahatma Gandhi asked him to come with his volunteers. He was so greatly moved by the dedication, courage, and conviction of Mahatma Gandhi that as soon as the motion of Non-Cooperation was passed by Indian National Congress in 1920, he retired his lucrative career of lawyer as well as his duties in the university to aid the movement.
He was elected as the President of the Indian National Congress during the Bombay session in October 1934. He again became the president when Netaji Subhash Chandra Bose resigned in 1939. On 8 August 1942, Congress passed the Quit India Resolution in Bombay which led to the arrest of many Indian leaders. He was arrested from Sadaqat Ashram, Patna and sent to Bankipur Jail. After remaining incarcerated for nearly 3 years, he was released on 15 June 1945.
After the formation of Interim Government of 12 nominated ministers under the leadership of Jawaharlal Nehru on Sep 2 1946, he got the Food and Agriculture department. Later, he was elected the President of Constituent Assembly that drafted the first constitution of Republic India from on 11 December 1946 to 1950. Again on 17 November 1947 he became Congress President for a third time after Jivatram Kripalani submitted resignation.
Two and a half years after independence, on January 26, 1950, the Constitution of independent India was ratified and Dr. Rajendra Prasad was elected the nation's first President.
Prasad acted independently of politics, following the expected role of the president as per the constitution. Following the tussle over the enactment of the Hindu Code Bill, he took a more active role in the affairs of the nation.In 1962, after serving twelve years as the president, he announced his decision to retire.After relinquishing the office of the President of India on May 1962, he returned to Patna on 14 May 1962 and preferred to stay in the campus of Bihar Vidyapeeth. He was subsequently awarded the Bharat Ratna, the nation's highest civilian award.
He breathed his last on 28 February 1963.

Release Function

The Vice President, Mohammad Hamid Ansari releasing the Commemorative Coin in the Memory of Late Dr. Rajendra Prasad in Patna, Bihar on February 28, 2010. The Governor of Bihar, Shri Devanand Konwar and the Chief Minister of Bihar, Shri Nitish Kumar are also seen in the picture. P D Photo by P S Kanwar

Proof Set: Both Coins of Rs 100 and Rs 5

The Coins of Rs 100 and Rs 5

See Next Post

No comments:

Post a Comment