2012 - 60 Year of Kolkata Mint [Diamond Jubilee] - Hyderabad Mint UNC Set

This post gives the details of Hyderabad Mint UNC Set. For Kolkata Mint Proof & UNC Set refer to the Previous post.

The Kolkata Mint celebrated 60 years or Diamond Jubilee in the year 2012.
A Rs 60 was issued for the first time. Unlike the other coins of Rs 100 or Rs 150 denominations in other set, the weight of the coin was reduced to 22.5 g.
Maybe this is the beginning of starting to reduce the size of all NCLT coins.

Some of the UNC set have a strange frosting error. Normally the UNC coins do not have any frosting, however in some sets there is partial frosting. See Images Below

The Kolkata city had quite a few mints from Pre-Independence. The first was established in 1757 and was located in a building next to the Black Hole in the old fort - where the GPO (General Post Office) stands today.It was called the Calcutta Mint and used to produce coins with the mint name.Murshidabad

The second Calcutta Mint was established with the modern machinery brought in 1790 from England. It was located at the site of Gillet Ship building Establishment, which had been taken over by the Stamp and Stationary Committee in 1833. The coins issued from this mint continued to bear mint name Murshidabad.

The third Calcutta Mint was opened on 1 August 1829. Until 1835 the coins issued at this mint continued to be in the name of the Murshidabad Mint.

In the late 1930s foundation work for a new Mint was started at New Alipore. Due to World War II it was completed in early 1950s

The Alipore Mint was opened by the Honorable Finance Minister of Government of India Shree C. D. Deshmukh on 19 March 1952 and started full operation for the coinage and preparation of medals, decorations and badges. In addition to production of coins for domestic use also produces coins for other nations.

Kolkata Mint Proof and UNC Sets:
Refer to Previous Post

Hyderabad Mint Single Coin UNC Set
Coin of Rs 5

No comments:

Post a Comment