2016 – National Archives – 125 Years

The 3rd release function of 2016 saw the release of a coin commemorating the 125 Years of National Archives. A very different theme from the routine.

The Details of the Coins are;

Related Press Release;

Release Function

Minister of State for Culture Dr. Mahesh Sharma releasing the commemorative Coin of Rs 125 and Rs 10 at the closing ceremony of the 125th Foundation Year Celebrations of the National Archives of India

The National Archives of India (NAI) is a repository of the non-current records of the Government of India and holds them in trust for the use of administrators and scholars. Originally established as the Imperial Record Department in 1891, in Calcutta, then capital of British India, the NAI is situated at the intersection of Janpath and Rajpath, in Delhi. It functions as an Attached Office of the Department of Culture under theMinistry of Culture, Government of India.

The Imperial Record Department was set up on 11 March 1891 in Calcutta (Kolkata). In 1911 it was transferred to the new capital, New Delhi, and in 1926 it was shifted into its new building. It is a building in late neo-classical style, and originally known as the Imperial Record Office.

Shri K.R. Narayanan, then President of India, declared the "Museum of the National Archives" open to the general public on 6 July 1998. This museum provides a representative overview of the multifarious holdings of the National Archives, and promotes a common man's interest in archival holdings.

The holdings in the National Archives are in a regular series starting from the year 1748. The languages of the records include English, Arabic, Hindi, Persian, Sanskrit, Modi and Urdu, and their materials include paper, palm leaf, birch bark and parchment. The records are in four categories: Public Records, Oriental Records, Manuscripts and Private Papers.

No comments:

Post a Comment