Indian Currency Note - Language Pannel

Each banknote has its amount written in 17 languages. On the obverse, the denomination is written in English and Hindi. On the reverse is a language panel which displays the denomination of the note in 15 of the 22 official languages of India.

The languages are displayed in alphabetical order. The Languages in the panel are Assamese, Bengali, Gujarati, Kannada, Kashmiri, Konkani, Malayalam, Marathi, Nepali, Odia, Punjabi, Sanskrit, Tamil, Telugu and Urdu.

Initially there were only 7 languages in the Language pannel, then increased to 13 and currently to 15.

No comments:

Post a Comment